A powerful piece – Jack Gilbert reads “By Small and Small: Midnight to Four A.M.” – audio file

Master poet Jack Gilbert reads his powerful, compact poem “By Small and Small: Midnight to Four A.M.”

For eleven years I have regretted it,
regretted that I did not do what
I wanted to do as I sat there those
four hours watching her die. I wanted
to crawl in among the machinery
and hold her in my arms, knowing
the elementary, leftover bit of her
mind would dimly recognize it was me
carrying her to where she was going.

~ by samofthetenthousandthings on August 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
