Favorite films – #6: Dekalog / Krzysztof Kieślowski


 
-from Dekalog VI
 
*
 

 
-from Dekalog IX
 
 

 
 
 

Dekalog (1989) / Krzysztof Kieślowski, dir.

~ by samofthetenthousandthings on August 22, 2011.

8 Responses to “Favorite films – #6: Dekalog / Krzysztof Kieślowski”

  1. Sam, this is wonderful! I love The Decalogue. Kieslowski is beyond belief. Thank you for linking to my so-called “blog.” I don’t know about blogs/ was trying to start new one strictly on t.v. and film reviews I want to write just for own desire to critique. But it went back to old blog. I don’t know if you watch Mad Men. Thank you for bringing up Decalogue. Also Plainwater. Truly great.

    • Kieslowski is my favorite filmmaker, Bobbi. A master.

      • Truly, a master. His Decalogue is amazing. That, for me, was among my greatest experiences with film.
        Also, Roy Andersson–have you seen “Songs from the Second Floor”? he is brilliant!
        “Nostalgia for the Light” –have you seen it? I recommend it highly.
        But there is “is” only one Kieslowski, even his decision not to have his surgery abroad says something about him: ever since “Bleu” I have been pouring espresso on top of vanilla ice cream…(if that means anything; his influence on my life, the old woman in all those scenes…brilliant…beautiful…so grateful he made all of those great films for us to cherish!

      • Bobbi, I have seen Songs from the Second Floor. Nice work. Have not seen Nostalgia for the Light. Will have to check it out.

        I know you like Kieślowski. Have you seen Blind Chance (Przypadek)? That’s an interesting piece.

      • I saw it when I lived in England. I tried to see everything of his. In England they played The Decalogue on television and it was astounding, for me, to discover such a great filmmaker! (on television!) It took years for it to get to the U.S. I wish more mention of the Decalogue vs. Red, White, Blue. but I did love Blue (BLeu) I never saw Przypadek in the U.S.

      • Bobbi, I’d posted at Fictionaut one section of a poem – Four Colors – based on four films by Kieślowski – but I don’t know if you read it there. Two parts, Blue and Red, were published in Poets and Artists – print & online, page 30 of this pdf file:

        http://poetsandartists.files.wordpress.com/2012/02/p26a11lores.pdf

        The other two, Gold and White, were published in Shampoo. Here’s a link: http://www.shampoopoetry.com/shampoothirtyseven/rasnake.html

      • Thank you, Sam, for letting me know about these poems you wrote. They are beautiful. My favorite, and I promise I am not being prejudiced, is Blue. I found this clip for your poem. Thank you http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mz2GkjkValM

      • Great clip. That’s a powerful image. Yes. Glad you like the set.

Leave a Reply

 
