personal favorites / poetry collections… The Branch Will Not Break by James Wright / with poem

James Wright, The Branch Will Not Break
 
 

from The Branch Will Not Break

“In Memory of a Spanish Poet”

        Take leave of the sun, and of the wheat, for me.
                 —Miguel Hernández
                   written in prison, 1942

I see you strangling
Under the black ripples of whitewashed walls.
Your hands turn yellow in the ruins of the sun.
I dream of your slow voice, flying,
Planting the dark waters of the spirit
With lutes and seeds.

Here, in the American Midwest,
Those seeds fly out of the field and across the strange heaven of my skull.
They scatter out of their wings a quiet farewell,
A greeting to my country.

Now twilight gathers,
A long sundown.
Silos creep away toward the west.

~ by samofthetenthousandthings on April 8, 2012.

3 Responses to “personal favorites / poetry collections… The Branch Will Not Break by James Wright / with poem”

  1. Sam,

    I believe this is my favorite volume of poetry, period. I’ve posted about it so many times I can’t count. Here’s one:

    http://lilliputreview.blogspot.com/2008/12/james-wright-prayer-to-escape-from.html

    best,
    Don

  2. An amazing collection, Don. A beautiful book. Agreed. “Lying in a Hammock at William Duffy’s Farm in Pine Island, Minnesota” is a poem that stays with me at all times.

  3. Reblogged this on Ashish's blogs.

Leave a Reply

 
