Frank Stanford, “Planning the Disappearance of Those Who Have Gone”

Frank_Stanford_(by_Fred_Kuhlman_Jr)For me, Frank Stanford is to poetry what Flannery O’Connor is to short fiction.

A brief poem by Stanford from his collection The Singing Knives – “Planning the Disappearance of Those Who Have Gone”:

Soon I will make my appearance
But first I must take off my rings
And swords and lay them out all
Along the lupine banks of the forbidden river
In reckoning the days I have
Left on this earth I will use
No fingers
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
~
 
 
 

~ by samofthetenthousandthings on June 24, 2014.

2 Responses to “Frank Stanford, “Planning the Disappearance of Those Who Have Gone””

  1. I read Stanford’s work in a class with Leon Stokesbury, who edited a critical selective works of Stanford’s. He had so many interesting insights to share about the poetry and Stanford’s life. I need to see if I can find my notes…

Leave a Reply

 
